Special & Alternative Education

Mission: The mission of the Department of Special Education is to improve the quality of life of students with disabilities and their families by developing and disseminating essential skills, and competencies through teaching, collaboration and service.  To the greatest extent possible

Through the coordinated efforts of members of the school community, faculty and staff will embrace individualized practices to ensure that inclusion, instruction and integrative activities aimed at achieving post-secondary goals.

ABOUT US

The Committee on Special Education (CSE) serves children between the ages 5-21 who are eligible for special education age services. Referrals to the Committee on Special Education may be made by district staff or parents.   If you suspect that your child may have a disability that requires specialized instruction, you are encouraged to refer your child, in writing to the Committee on Special Education.

The special education department provides a range of supports and services for students who have been identified as having a disability according to federal and state guidelines. Students with disabilities are provided individualized special education programs which can include: related services, assistive technology, and accommodations/modifications in the general education classroom and/or the special education setting.  All programs are developed using a team that includes general and special education staff, families and the student.

For children between the ages of 3 and 5, special education services are recommended by the Committee on Preschool Special Education (CPSE).

Dr. Yvonne Palmer-Director of Special and Alternative Education (Elementary Schools) 

ypalmer@nredlearn.org

Michele Fret- Assistant Director of Special Education (Elementary Schools)

mfret@nredlearn.org

Charise King – Assistant Director of Special Education (ALMS)

cking@nredlearn.org

Maureen Avione – Assistant Director of special Education (NRHS)

mavione@nredlearn.org


Melissa Denard – Principal Clerk  mdenard@nredlearn.org  (576-4690)

Agnes Melendez- Principal Clerk  amelendez@nredlearn.org (576-4267)

Bryan Harris - Clerk

bharris1@nredlearn.org

(914) 576-4267

 Melissa Szymanowski - Central CSE Chairperson

mszymanowski@nredlearn.org

(914) 576-4224

Deborah Fox - Central CSE Chairperson

dfox@nredlearn.org
(914) 576-4224

Amelia Hunter - CSE Clerk
ahunter@nredlearn.org
(914)576-4262

Frayda Grossbach - Elementary District Wide Facilitator
fgrossbach@nredlearn.org
(914)819-2326

Lisa Wilson -  Elementary CSE Clerk 

lwilson@nredlearn.org

(914) 576-4690 

Elizabeth Sanchez - Albert Leonard Middle School CSE Chairperson

esanchez@nredlearn.org

(914) 576-8080

Danielle Brudner - Isaac E. Young Middle School CSE Chairperson

dbrudner@nredlearn.org

(914) 576-1192

Laura Rutto - New Rochelle High School Office Manager

lrutto@nredlearn.org

(914) 576-8222 or (914)576-8292

Deanna DeLuca - New Rochelle High School CSE Chairperson

ddeluca@nredlearn.org

914-576-4544

Jaqueline McKendry - New Rochelle High School CSE Chairperson

jmckendry@nredlearn.org

914) 576-8222 or (914)576-8292

Natalie Medina - New Rochelle High School CSE Chairperson

nmedina@nredlearn.org

914) 576-8222 or (914)576-8292

Aline Walters Assistive Technology

awalters@nredlearn.org

(914) 576-8188

Regina  Martorello - Board Certified Behavior Analyst
rmartorello@nredlearn.org

Tashica Crawford - Psychologist/Coordinator of Out of District Students
tcrawford@nredlearn.org

914-576-4256

SEPTA

Aviso Relativo a Garantias de Procedimiento - Español

RESOURCES